Peruvian Chicken Stew with Sweet Potatoes and Peanuts

A trip to Machu Picchu is definitely on my bucket list but it’s not going to happen right now with a toddler in tow. So I’ll just have to take myself to Peru through cuisine. I just made a quick dinner that I adapted from Cooking Light Soups & Stews Tonight! The house smelled great from the peanuts and we had a hearty meal, great for a fall evening. I apologize for the lack of photos along the way but I had my kiddo on my hip during much of the cooking process so didn’t have a spare hand for the camera. But check out the final product below.

I ground up dry roasted peanuts in my mini food processor. They weren’t quite at peanut butter consistency but seemed a little moist. I thinly sliced an onion and a half then prepped my sweet potatoes, cutting them (approximately 1 pound worth) into small chunks. I heated vegetable oil in the Dutch oven on medium-high heat, then browned the onions. I added in the peanuts, 6 cups of water, yellow cornmeal, some salt, cumin, ground allspice, and the sweet potato chunks. After bringing it all to a boil, I reduced the heat to low and let it simmer for 15 minutes. I then added in a pound and a half of boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces. I again brought it to a boil then reduced heat to medium-low and let cook for 10 more minutes. I tossed in a handful of fresh cilantro and dinner was ready. The broth was so tasty. I’d recommend seasoning the chicken, maybe with a little salt and freshly ground pepper, before cooking it, to add a little more flavor. But all in all, yummy stew that I’d definitely make again.

peru stew

_____________________________

Peruvian Chicken Stew with Sweet Potatoes and Peanuts (adapted from Cooking Light Soups & Stews Tonight!)

Yield: 6 servings

1/2 cup unsalted dry roasted peanuts

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 1/2 cups thinly sliced onion (1 1/2 medium onions)

6 cups water

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/8 teaspoon ground allspice

1 pound of peeled sweet potatoes, diced into cubes

1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bited-sized pieces, seasoned with salt and pepper to taste

1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro

The Recipe:

1. Grind peanuts in a spice grinder or food processor until chopped into fine/medium pieces. They will be moist appearing but not peanut butter consistency

2. Heat the oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook until lightly browned.

3. Add the water, cornmeal, salt, cumin, allspice, and sweet potatoes. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes over low heat.

4. Add the chicken pieces. Bring to a boil again then reduce heat and cook for 10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

5. Stir in 1/3 cup of fresh cilantro, roughly torn.

______________________________

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Peruvian Chicken Stew with Sweet Potatoes and Peanuts

  1. […] Peruvian Chicken Stew with Sweet Potatoes and Peanuts (thedinnerpages.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

