Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Yes, I know that everything is pumpkin this time of year but I can’t help jumping on the bandwagon because I really do love pumpkin! We had plans to visit some good friends a few hours away this afternoon and I wanted to bake a treat to bring them but didn’t have a lot of time before we needed to get on the road. Muffins fit the bill well. Yummy fall flavors without a ton of prep work or long baking time.

After preheating the oven to 400F and readying my muffin tin, I got down to baking. In a large bowl I combined the dry ingredients, all-purpose flour, baking powder, granulated sugar, salt, ground cinnamon, a pinch of ground cloves, and grated nutmeg. Ground nutmeg would work fine too but the flavor from the freshly grated nutmeg is amazing so I try to always grate it if I have time.

In another bowl I whisked together the wet ingredients, eggs, whole milk, light brown sugar, granulated sugar, a stick of melted unsalted butter, and vanilla. I then added a cup of canned pumpkin purée.

I combined the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients and stirred until just moistened. I added in a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips then divided the batter among the 16 muffin cups.

DSC_0320

DSC_0325

I baked them for 22 minutes, until a knife inserted into the center came out clean.

Pumpkin may be trendy this month but there’s a good reason why…it’s delicious!! I can’t promise there won’t be more pumpkin recipes to come here at The Dinner Pages over the next few weeks. Until we move into gingerbread season. Mmmmmm….

DSC_0330

_____________________________
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins (adapted from Joy of Cooking)

Yield: 16 muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2/3 cup granulated sugar, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
A pinch of ground cloves
1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg (or 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg)
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup canned pumpkin purée
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

The Recipe
1. Preheat the oven to 400F. Prepare muffins tins with 16 paper liners or nonstick cooking spray
2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, 1/3 cup sugar, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg.
3. In a separate bowl, combine the eggs, milk, melted butter, brown sugar, the remaining 1/3 cup granulated sugar, and vanilla. Stir in the pumpkin purée.
4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened. Add in the chocolate chips.
5. Divide the batter among the muffins cups. Bake for 22 minutes or until a knife inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.
______________________________

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pumpkin Pancakes | The Dinner Pages November 10, 2013 at 10:45 AM Reply

    […] there would be more pumpkin recipes on the way! In order to use up the leftover pumpkin from the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins and make my family a yummy Sunday breakfast I modified our typical pancake recipe to create these […]

  2. Pear Muffins | Butterflies and Brownies November 11, 2013 at 8:41 AM Reply

    […] Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins (thedinnerpages.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] banana from the race), what better than to make some banana bread?! My son was a huge fan of the pumpkin muffins I made last weekend so I decided to go with muffins again, instead of traditional banana bread, […]

Leave a Reply

