Honey Glazed Chicken Stir Fry

Have I mentioned that prior to my blogging (okay, so prior to about a month ago) I took notes in the margins of my cookbooks? At first it felt a little taboo, you know, because you’re not supposed to write in books. But I’ve been doing it for a while actually. I have a cookbook my grandmother gave me in 1988 and I have notes in it from way back then. A little less wordy than here perhaps, but then again the internet has a little more room for words than the margins of that little book. Aside from the fun memories that come flooding back when look at one of those old books, my note taking has come in more handy as an adult actually cooking for myself, because as I’ve mentioned, I have nearly 150 cookbooks and I can’t remember what I’ve made before half the time and whether it was any good and worth making again. This recipe has one of those notations. It was 2009 when we last enjoyed this meal (May 18, 2009: “Veggies were tasty. Smelled like “real” Chinese food, but chicken was a little dry”) and it was worth reviving.

Honey Glazed Chicken Stir Fry

The nice thing about stir fries in general, and this one in particular, is that they’re a great way to use up odds and ends of produce hanging out in your fridge. When planning our dinners for the week this one was particularly appealing because it helped clean out the produce drawer and we already had all the ingredients on hand. This time around the chicken wasn’t dry, maybe because we used chicken thighs instead of breasts (or because I’m more comfortable with cooking chicken now such that I don’t overcook it to avoid giving my family Salmonella). Anyway, this meal is quick and really very healthy so I’m thinking I probably won’t wait 3 1/2 more years before serving it again. Next time I’m going to add some sautéed garlic and ginger to the veggies to boost the flavor further.

Honey Glazed Chicken Stir Fry

______________________________

Honey Glazed Chicken Stir Fry (adapted from Better Homes & Gardens New Cookbook)

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast halves or thighs

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

2 tablespoons orange juice

4 teaspoons soy sauce

1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

4-6 cups cut up vegetables (such as broccoli, bell pepper, onion, carrots)

minced garlic and ginger to taste

rice, for serving

Directions:

1. Cut the chicken into small strips or cubes. Set aside.

2. Make the sauce by combining the honey, vinegar, orange juice, soy sauce, and cornstarch in a small bowl. Set aside.

3. In a large wok or skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat. When it is hot, add in the cut up vegetables (plus garlic and ginger if using) and sauté for 3 to 4 minutes until the vegetables are cooked but still crispy. Remove the vegetables from the wok.

4. Add the chicken to the wok and cook for another 3 to 5 minutes until the chicken is cooked through and no longer pink. Add in the sauce and stir continuously until the sauce thickens and bubbles slightly. Then add back in the vegetables and cook together for another minute.

5. Serve over rice.

_____________________________

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

