Gingerbread Waffles with Eggnog Whipped Cream

Wait, can I give you one more gingerbread recipe for the year? These tasty waffles make a nice festive breakfast with delicious gingerbread aromas topped with lightly eggnog flavored whipped cream. The kitchen smelled like I had just baked gingerbread cookies after putting my waffle iron to work, and I didn’t even have to turn on the oven or get out my cookie cutters.

Gingerbread Waffles with Eggnog Whipped Cream

I started out by whisking together the dry ingredients, flour, sugar, baking powder, and the yummy gingerbread spices. To that I added the wet ingredients which included applesauce (could sub in pumpkin as well), eggs, milk, butter, vanilla, and a bit of molasses to really give it that gingerbread cookie touch. I cooked them on my waffle iron until the appliance signaled to me that it was ready and after a few rounds, we were good to go. Overall, very quick. No need to refrigerate the batter or anything like that. I’m pretty sure the batter would have been great for pancakes too and I plan to try that later as well–I’ll certainly update when I do.

Gingerbread Waffles with Eggnog Whipped Cream

I’ve been meaning to meld gingerbread and eggnog flavors since I went to the holiday lunch at the cafeteria at work and I got a gingerbread cookie but for dunking my choices were Coke Zero or eggnog. So I chose the eggnog (probably the only situation in my life where eggnog > Coke Zero) and dunked the cookie and really enjoyed the combo. So I brought it back for this recipe. For the whipped cream I combined 3 parts heavy whipping cream to 1 part eggnog, added in a little bit of sugar, as well as some ground nutmeg to give it that authentic eggnog spice and beat the mixture in my mixer until there were relatively stiff peaks formed. The eggnog flavor was definitely there but not overwhelming by any means and the flavored whipped cream negated the need for syrup on these waffles. Now go, enjoy your breakfast.

Gingerbread Waffles with Eggnog Whipped Cream______________________________
Gingerbread Waffles with Eggnog Whipped Cream (adapted from Gingerbread)

Yield: depends on your waffle iron. I made 12 square waffles with mine, serves 3-4

For the waffles:

1 cup all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

3 large eggs

1 1/4 cups whole milk

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 tablespoons molasses

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the whipped cream:

3/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup eggnog

1 teaspoon granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

powdered sugar, for garnish (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat the waffle iron on the highest setting.

2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices.

3. To the dry ingredients, add the applesauce, eggs, milk, butter, molasses, and vanilla. Stir together until just combined. The batter might still be slightly lumpy.

4. Pour onto waffle iron to cook. The amount varies by iron, approximately 1 to 1 1/2 cups of batter at a time.

5. Cook until the iron signals it is ready, about 4 minutes. Carefully remove the waffle from the iron.

6. For the whipped cream, combine the whipping cream and eggnog in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat on medium to high heat until soft peaks form. Then add the sugar and nutmeg and continuing beating until there are stiff peaks.

7. Top the waffles with powdered sugar, if desired, and serve with eggnog whipped cream.

______________________________

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Gingerbread Waffles with Eggnog Whipped Cream

  1. You are my sunshine October 21, 2014 at 2:47 AM Reply

    Thank you for great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

