White Chocolate Macademia Blondies

We’ll end this week’s tour de Hawaii with one of my favorites, white chocolate macademia cookies. I’ve always loved the white chocolate macademia nut combo and when someone once brought me back one of those tins of Mauna Loa macademias from their Hawaiian vacation, I was hooked. Did you know you can buy all kinds of macademia flavors at Costco in Hawaii? I loved the local flair. Yes, we went to Costco on our Hawaiian vacation, just to check it out…my husband got a Hawaiian shirt there and everything.

Costco Kauai

On our way to the airport when departing from Moloka’i, we stopped off at the macademia nut farm. There we learned the process by which their macademias are picked, opened, and roasted and had the opportunity to dig in ourselves.

Macademia Nut Farm

Those macademias, straight from their shells, were delicious…though made me appreciate the already cracked, roasted, and salted ones a whole lot more!

macademia nut farm

Macademia Nut Farm

So there is definitely a fond place in my heart for macademia nuts and I knew I wanted to highlight them in my last post about Hawaii (for now…I actually still have a few more Hawaiian cookbooks to cover later, maybe next year when I need a mid-winter pick-me-up).

Thus, these White Chocolate Macademia Blondies were created. Meanwhile, I didn’t realize it at the time when planning this post at the end of my Hawaii themed week, but today is National Blonde Brownie Day. So these blondies are not only delicious…but it was fate!

White Chocolate Macademia Blondies

I took the recipe I used for White Chocolate Peppermint Blondies and in my Black and White Brownie Blondie Swirls, and changed it up just a bit. I used only vanilla extract instead of a splash of peppermint extract and I mixed white chocolate chips and roasted macademia nuts in with the batter as well as pressing them onto the top of the bars before baking them. Quick and easy…only one bowl needed, so easy clean up too!

White Chocolate Macademia Blondies

I hope you’ve enjoyed our brief vacation through some Hawaiian themed dishes. I still have a few Hawaiian cookbooks waiting to be experienced so we’ll revisit Hawaii someday soon. In the meantime, be sure to share some of these treats with your Ohana! Until next time, Aloha…

White Chocolate Macademia Blondies______________________________

White Chocolate Macademia Blondies

Yield: 8×8-inch pan (about 9 large blondies)

nonstick cooking spray

1 stick unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

1 large egg

1 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup white chocolate chips, divided

3/4 cup macademia nuts (I used roasted and salted), divided

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line an 8×8 inch cake pan with aluminum foil and spray with nonstick spray.

2. In a mixing bowl, mix together the butter, egg, sugar, and vanilla with a fork. Then stir in the flour until just combined. Add in 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of macademia nuts.

3. Pour the batter in the pan, smoothing out the top with a spatula. Press the remaining chocolate chips and macademia nuts on top of the batter.

4. Bake for 23-25 minutes (23 minutes for very moist and chewy/25 minutes for crispier on the outside but still very moist and chewy inside). Let cool in pan before slicing.

______________________________

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

