Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake

homebaker1

Since February was a short month, it’s already time to share another coffee cake, baked along with The Home Bakers group; this time it’s Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake.

Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake

I was initially really excited about this particular cake because I love raspberries and I love cakes with streusel topping. I planned to bring the cake to work for a potluck so I had a deadline. However toward the end of an exhausting work week, with the potluck party the next day, I really wasn’t in the mood for a big baking project and almost skipped out on the coffee cake and made brownies from a mix (Gasp. Kidding…brownies from a mix can actually be pretty amazing). But I read through this recipe and realized it actually was very straightforward and quick, so I decided to drive on and make the cake. I’m very happy I did.

The results are sweet, but not overly so, with juiciness from the raspberries, texture from the almonds, and, a light tangy flavor from the combination of buttermilk, lemon zest, and nutmeg. Because this cake isn’t exceedingly rich, it does go perfectly with breakfast or brunch. I think it would also go well on a baby shower menu. It would be easy enough to switch out the raspberries for fresh blueberries if the shower was for a boy and you were trying stick with the blue for a boy color scheme.

I first prepared the streusel topping by combining flour, sugar, nutmeg, and cold pieces of butter in a bowl with my hands until crumbly. I then added in the almonds.

Streusel for Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake

Next, in the bowl of my electric mixer I creamed the butter and sugar, then added in eggs, vanilla, lemon zest, and buttermilk. I then added in the dry ingredients including flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. I spread the batter into a greased springform pan and topped it with raspberries and then the prepared streusel topping.

Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake

After baking it for about an hour, I removed it from the oven and let it cool in the pan before removing the sides.

Success! And in the end there were three other types of brownies at the potluck, so I’m glad I did something unique!

Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake

______________________________

Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake (adapted from Coffee Cakes)

Yield: one 9-inch round cake (serves 12)

nonstick cooking spray with flour

For the streusel topping

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 cup (2 ounces) sliced almonds

For the cake

10 tablespoons (1 stick plus 2 tablespoons) unsalted butter at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (I used the zest of one medium lemon)

3/4 cup plain yogurt or buttermilk (I used buttermilk)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups fresh raspberries

Directions:

Please see The Charmed Cupcake for the full directions for this recipe.

My additional notes:

  • The recipe recommends baking for 55-60 minutes; it took me 65 minutes.
  • I used nonstick cooking spray with flour to grease the springform pan; you could also use butter and a small amount of all-purpose flour to get the same effect.

______________________________

Check out The Home Bakers and see other interpretations of Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake!

If you love coffee cake, my Milk Chocolate-Walnut Coffee Cake is amazing too!

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake

  1. The Charmed Cupcake March 10, 2014 at 7:57 AM Reply

    I’m so glad you did not pull out of this bake as it really is delicious and your cake turned out beautiful!! I am sure it was the talk of your pot luck dinner party.

    • Jessie March 10, 2014 at 9:26 PM Reply

      Thanks! I was proud of the outcome and happy I brought something interesting and tasty to the potluck.

  2. kitchen flavours March 11, 2014 at 12:12 AM Reply

    Hi Jessie,
    Your cake looks great! I wish that raspberries are more affordable around here. This is one lovely cake, and i like it too, that it is not too sweet. I’m sure everyone at the potluck was really glad that you’ve made this cake, instead of another brownies!

    • Jessie March 11, 2014 at 9:51 PM Reply

      Thanks for coordinating this!

  3. […] Raspberry-Almond Coffee Cake […]

  4. Daisies Girl March 11, 2014 at 10:19 PM Reply

    I I love almond, I love raspberry!! This looks freaking delicious!! It has been bookmarked and added to my “must make” list!!

    • Jessie March 13, 2014 at 10:18 PM Reply

      Please let me know how it turns out! I’m sorry I ate the last piece for breakfast yesterday.

  5. Together we roam (@tweroam) March 12, 2014 at 1:56 AM Reply

    Want to have some of this right now 🙂 Yum. I totally don’t bake but might have to give this a go or at least have someone make it for me. Thanks for posting, big love from Bloggy Mom March Blog Hop xo

    • Jessie March 12, 2014 at 6:45 AM Reply

      Even if you’re not much of a baker, this cake is so easy. You might surprise yourself!

Leave a Reply

